First Birthday // flashbacks + sappy thoughts

Today, I’m at a loss for words and overcome with so many emotions. I can’t even believe how much our lives have changed for the better in this past year. One second we were just two people who chose to be together, and the next second, we were thrust into the greatest role we could ever have been given the honor to fill: parents.
At 5:59pm on January 14th, 2014, Harrison Edwin came into this world large and in charge at 8 pounds 13 ounces and 20.5 inches tall with a perfect 15cm head.
Happy Birthday, my sweet love. You are the greatest part of us, and we are constantly amazed by how incredibly deep we love you. Sometimes when I look at you, it feels like my heart will burst into a million pieces. Even when you’re rubbing eggs in my hair and playing with my belly rolls, you make me so happy. Your smiles and hugs and kisses and cuddles and nuzzles melt me.
I am so lucky you chose me. I am forever grateful to you, for making me a mama, and for opening my eyes to how beautiful life can be.

You brought us so much joy before you were even here. (c) Victoria Greener Photography
About 12 hours before you decided it was time to meet!
Seeing Zach hold you for the first time was something I will never forget.
When they laid you on my chest and you latched on, a rush of relief and happiness came over me.
Meeting Pop Pop for the first time, he loves you so much!
Your grammy was instantly smitten.
This is the first time I’ve really looked at this picture. I hid it away for a long time because of how disheveled and bloated I looked, but there’s something so comforting in it now. I can see the relief and joy and exhaustion in all of our faces. It’s our first picture as a family, and because of that, I will treasure it forever. 
Those sweet, just born wrinkly toes.
Look at how small you were! 2 days new and your first day home! I couldn’t believe they just let us leave the hospital with you.
This picture says it all. (c) Laken Fulton Photography

Now if you’ll excuse me, I’m off to snuggle and spoil my sweet toddler (cue the tears) boy a l l d a y.

Saturday Spotlight
32 thoughts on “First Birthday // flashbacks + sappy thoughts

  1. Such an exciting time… Bringing your baby home from the hospital after months of anticipation is an indescribable feeling.. Congratulations on having such a beautiful healthy son! 2 became 3 ;o)

    Like

  2. This is so cute! I can't believe how tiny babies are when they go home. I'd be so scared that something might happen/not trust myself. I actually have no experience whatsoever with babies!

    Katie ❤

    Like

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

