H’s 1st Birthday Party Recap

This past weekend we decided to throw a super last minute “party” for Harrison’s first birthday. It was basically a glorified play group with more booze than normal, and it was perfect. 

We were surrounded by friends and family members who have all been a huge part of the first year of Harrison’s life. Of course my little chunk wanted nothing to do with eating the amazing cake that Zach made (from scratch!), but he did play around with the frosting for a little before deciding he was over it and wanted to go back to playing with his friends. It was wonderful to have everyone together to celebrate our first year as parents as well. When we all gathered around to sing “Happy Birthday” to Harrison, my heart swelled in gratitude and appreciation, and a part of me felt like the other mamas were also singing to me as well.

I am so lucky to have met so many amazing women with such cute kiddos who have helped teach H some pretty awesome tricks. 
Zach and I keep commenting about how happy we are that we decided to host a party. I initially was super against it, because I didn’t want to stress out about cleaning and decorating and cooking for a huge group of people, but the more I thought about it, the more I realized I wanted to do something.
So, I stayed off Pinterest and Google, ignored the amazing parties my mommy friends had and were hosting, and with the help of my awesome husband, let go of what I thought his party should be, and focused on the most important part – stocking up on wine.
Just kidding. 
Sort of
For decorations, all we did was hang up a “Happy Birthday” banner. There was no theme or streamers or cute party hats. For food, we grabbed some easy snacks and ended up buying store-made cupcakes. Pigs in a blanket were probably the biggest hit.
Other than that, all we did was vacuum and clean and move some furniture around so the kiddos could cruise and enjoyed the day! And you know what? It was GREAT! Neither Zach nor I were stressing about anything, and Harrison was surrounded by so much love and joy and that’s more than I could have asked for. 
The birthday boy, looking HUGE! 
Wearing: The Wishing Elephant Cardigan, Young One Apparel Tee, Little Big Dreamers leggings and Freshly Picked Moccasins and playing with his favorite Rad Revolution Taggie Teethers!
27 thoughts on “H’s 1st Birthday Party Recap

  1. He is such a cutie! Happy belated bday H! I commend you for letting go of all the expectations and stress that seems to come when we think we have to do certain things as mothers! I couldn't do much of anything for my daughter's 1st bday. Just her, my husband and I with a cake and a candle. Her 2nd bday however was a different story. I guess like you said I got into my own head and thought I needed to go all out for my daughter's party. Looking back it was an amazing turn out but all the stress and extremely pressure I put on myself could have been left out. Since I work full time I was up all night Friday and all morning until the minute the party started decorating and making all the themed food. You know what's worst, I didn't get to take one good picture of all that hard work! lol But in the end my daughter had a blast and we made beautiful memories. However I can tell you that I will not repeat the same mistakes. Her 3rd will be easy breezy like yours and we will all love it! Great post. 🙂

    Like

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

