Healthy (ish) Beet & Avocado Brownies

wild veggie frozen puree healthy beet avocado milk chocolate brownies

Have you heard of MomsMeet? It’s an awesome online community that “empowers moms to connect, learn, and share their thoughts on raising healthy families and living green.” They also offer “exciting opportunities for moms and their friends to try and review natural, organic and eco-products and services, and share their honest feedback through the Mom Ambassador program.” So far, I have sampled Wild Veggie Frozen Purees and BeechNut baby food and have loved getting to try new products and give my personal feedback.
When I was sent the Wild Veggie pack, I knew right away I wanted to use the beet puree to make brownies. My family is so anti-beet, which just breaks my little beet loving heart, but if there’s one thing they love it’s sweets, especially when chocolates involved. I love that the purees are minimally processed, GMO free, and all the prep work is done, so all I have to do is thaw (if I so choose) and get cooking!
IMG_2247
You will need:
  • 10 oz Wild Veggie Beet Puree (one container)
  • 6 oz chopped unsweetened baking chocolate
  • ⅓ cup cocoa
  • ½ cup avocado, mashed (or substitute coconut oil, vegetable oil or melted butter)
  • 1½ cups coconut sugar (or substitute raw sugar, or cane sugar)
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 3 eggs
  • 1 cup whole wheat flour
  • ½ teaspoon baking powder
  • ¼ teaspoon salt
  • ¼ cup powdered sugar (optional)
Instructions:
  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
  2. In a medium saucepan over low heat, combine Wild Veggie Beet Puree (no need to pre-thaw), baking chocolate, cocoa, oil, sugar and vanilla.
  3. Stir occasionally until melted.
  4. Remove from heat and allow to cool to touch (too hot and it will scramble the eggs).
  5. Wisk together eggs and stir into brownie mixture.
  6. Combine flour, baking powder and salt.
  7. Stir into mixture and pour into a greased 9” x 13” baking pan.
  8. Bake for 25 minutes. Allow to cool. garnish with powdered sugar (optional).

I’d say these were a definite hit! My hubby ate a few before even asking what was in them and was shocked that beets and avocado were my secret ingredients! The consistency was similar to mochi, which we enjoyed, and they were creamy and fudgey. My health-concious mind was delighted that I was able to sneak in a few extra good-for-you vitamins and nutrients without risking the yummy and indulgent taste of brownies.

wild veggie frozen puree healthy yummy avocado beet brownies

 In the spirit of full disclosure, MomsMeet provided samples of Wild Veggie for me to try. No payment was given and as always, all opinions given here are fully my own.

(function(i,s,o,g,r,a,m){i[‘GoogleAnalyticsObject’]=r;i[r]=i[r]||function(){
(i[r].q=i[r].q||[]).push(arguments)},i[r].l=1*new Date();a=s.createElement(o),
m=s.getElementsByTagName(o)[0];a.async=1;a.src=g;m.parentNode.insertBefore(a,m)
})(window,document,’script’,’//www.google-analytics.com/analytics.js’,’ga’);

ga(‘create’, ‘UA-56542884-1’, ‘auto’);
ga(‘send’, ‘pageview’);

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

