6 Month Update

H6months

Height: 30 inches (100th %)
Weight: 22 lbs 15 oz (100th %)
Head: 47.5 cm (100th %)
Wearing: 12m – 18m

This past week has been rough for me. It blows my mind that half of an entire year has already passed since Zach and I first laid eyes on Harrison. I still remember laughing through the final push (I know, everyone in the room thought I was coo-coo banana pants too) and the feeling of utter joy and happiness as my midwife handed H to me and I put him to my chest. I still get really teary when I think about it, and most days it feels like it only happened yesterday.

There was so much more I wanted to do for him in his first 6 months of life, and so much more I wanted to document and so many more crafts I wanted to complete, but it didn’t happen. Instead, I can honestly say I’ve thrown the schedule out and done my best to just live in the moment with my little H. While that does mean I have honestly gotten none of the Pinterest projects done, his nursery is still missing a few things, most days I eat breakfast at noon and he’s still not sleeping by himself during the day, I’m enjoying every little bit (except the post-shots hours… those suck).

Our six month check up was great (except for aforementioned shots of course)! Our pediatrician told me H is the biggest baby that’s come through his practice, and is pretty amazed it’s all just breast milk which makes me feel so amazing about what my body is doing for him. While H is super off the charts in weight, the pedi assured me that there are no such things as overweight or obese babies, especially when nursing on command, and that it’s totally ok that he’s not rolling yet. Apparently when you weigh as much as an “average” 1.5 year old but only have the developmental abilities of a 6 month old, moving all that mass can be pretty hard work! He also gave us the OK to start solids, so I’m officially on the hunt for a high chair and we’ll begin our baby led weaning (BLW) journey this week! While we’ll be skipping the rice cereal, we’ll probably do a mix of BLW and purees and see what works best for us.

It is incredible to me how much he has changed and learned this last month! He is constantly babbling and talking – especially to his Sophie and Max the Raccoon, and has the greatest facial expressions. My favorite is the look he sometimes gives me when I try to make crazy noises so he’ll smile for me – he raises one eyebrow and the dimple in his chin becomes super pronounced and I can just tell in his mind he’s thinking “what in the heck is this woman doing?!”.

A few happenings from this month:

  • H experienced his first 4th of July.
  • He is mostly sitting up unassisted! However once he catches sight of his feet, its usually game over and he folds over and rolls on his side to suck on his toes and play with them.
  • He waved goodbye to my mom and dad the other night! I totally missed it (sob), but Zach and my parents swear it was real.
  • He wraps his arms around my neck when I’m holding him.
  • He reaches out for me when I go to pick him up! Best feeling in the world!
  • His most used phrase lately is “mama mama mama mmmmama”. He’s also stringing together tons of vowels and several consonants.
  • He has started to become a little bashful when he talks to pretty ladies – so cute. He’ll smile, then tilt his head down, smile some more and then burrow his head into my shoulder and look back to see if the other person is still there.
  • H went swimming for the first time! He wasn’t so sure about the chilly water, but he promptly passed out at 6:14pm and slept until 6:30 the next morning, so mama loved that.
  • H has had banana twice, cucumber once and cantaloupe once and loved them all! (He’s all about gnawing on anything he can grab off my plate – including apple slices, carrots, avocado and hummus so technically he’s had those as well.)
  • He turns towards us when we say his name.
  • He loves playing airplane and peekaboo.
  • He turns himself around in a circle while on his back! Often when we go into his room in the mornings, he’s turned 180*.
  • He definitely recognizes Zach, me, my mom and dad.
  • He has started to interact and play more with other babies.
  • He still loves standing and would much rather be vertical than horizontal.
  • H and I have made it to 6 months of exclusively breastfeeding! I am so incredibly proud of myself and my body and love that we have met my first breastfeeding goal!
  • A personal something related to meeting our nursing goal – I have donated 923 ounces of breast milk to local moms in need because of my oversupply since May of this year. I feel so fortunate to have the ability to breastfeed and that our journey has been generally pretty easy, and instead of complaining about my oversupply I decided to take advantage and share what I have. I hope to continue donating as long as possible and am in the process of getting certified to donate to a local NICU to help more families and their babes in a stressful situation.

 

June 16 – 22

June 23 – 29

June 30 – July 6

July 7 – 14

There have been so many moments this past month that I hope to always remember. One that stands out in particular – Zach and I were cooking dinner after he had gotten home from work, and had the Ray Lamontagne Pandora station on, and H was playing on a mat we made up for him and was babbling away to his chimpanzee Elway and moving in circles. It felt so perfect, like this is what being a family was all about: Zach was helping H stand up and we were all dancing around in the kitchen together, being silly and totally absorbed in the moment. There were giggles and I just kept looking around at these two perfect people thinking how lucky I was. It had been a really long and rough day with no naps from H, and I was feeling a little like an incompetent and subpar mom, and that hour and a half completely refreshed my soul.

This has been the hardest and most wonderful 6 months, full of ups and downs and I can’t wait to see what the next 6 will bring!

4 thoughts on “6 Month Update

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

