God Knows We’re Worth It // Two Year Anniversary

IMG_1759

April twenty-first, two thousand twelve – it’s been two years?! That’s it?! Time waits for no man, certainly not us!
Today is mine and Zach’s two year anniversary. So much has happened in two short years of marriage: we’ve had 8 jobs between the two of us, moved away and into a tiny shoebox of an apartment, bought a house and fixed it up, then sold said house and moved back, had an incredibly handsome son, and made a ton of memories.

Eventhough most everyone knows our story, I thought I’d share it here again.

// We met in February of 2010 at a job interview. Zach was managing a clothing store in Boise where I came in to snag a spot as a retail associate. He was kind of a jerk during the interview, but he was so good looking I didn’t even care. I had a pretty unforgettable Q&A – when he asked me what my greatest accomplishment was I didn’t even skip a beat and replied “potty training” and left it at that. He and the other manager who were interviewing me were silent for a minute and then cracked up, and proclaimed that I was the best interviewee they had ever come across. Yeah, I’m super witty and awesome, and I’m pretty sure that’s the moment Zach knew he was in for some kind of crazy adventure with me.

// Zach proposed in a pretty amazing way, and I never get tired of telling the story:
A few weeks before Zach popped the question, we went to drinks with Zach’s brother and sister in law at Legends, a bar by the movie theatre in Boise. There, we had a fantastic Bloody Mary (seriously though, if you’re a fan of them, you have to go to Legends for one – yum) and made plans that next day to return before Zach left for Spokane, WA to get drinks.
About a week later, Zach and I went to a late movie at the aforementioned theatre and afterwards saw a Photobooth in the lobby where Zach insisted on taking pictures. Being the wonderful, accommodating person I am, I agreed and we took a row of pictures.

185753_10150102187060959_3198648_n Then, on March 6th, Zachary picked me up after work and headed over to Legends like we had previously decided upon. However, on the walk over to Legends, Zach suggested that we go take pictures in the Photobooth to commemorate his last month in town. Although I put up a fight, I eventually gave in after a few “pretty please’s” from Zach. He handed me a wrinkly $5 bill and told me to choose the film strip theme (there are usually black and white, color, and then a few cartoonish ones). I chose black and white because it was the same as the last set we had taken. I started taking off my glasses but Zach stopped me, and insisted that I needed to wear them for the pictures, so I left them on and we took a seat next to each other on the Photobooth bench. The screen counted down 3… 2… and then all of a sudden Zach was down on his knee, holding out a beautiful ring, saying “Shannon…” and that’s where I pretty much “blacked out” and started crying and nodding my head. Neither of us can remember exactly what was said, but we’re pretty sure there was something about how much Zach loves me and wanted to spend the rest of his life with me.

190411_10150106455000959_3928319_n After Zach let me cry (the good kind) for a while in the Photobooth, he helped wipe away my tears and we drove onto my parents house where we had a standing tradition of Sunday night dinners. Zach’s mother joined us and we began all the phone calls to family members and, of course, most importantly, made it Facebook official 🙂

// The actual wedding was crazy, so many things went wrong and went missing, but at the end of the day, I didn’t care, and Zach and the guests were unaware of anything going awry. Because of how Zach proposed, we of course had a Photo Booth at the wedding (and have terrific black mail material thanks to an open bar), and it was easily the best money we spent. (More photos here on my Facebook page: wedding // Photo Booth)

// We took a “mini-moon” to the Oregon Coast and Seattle, all secretly planned by Zach, and it was so much fun! We had a rented beach house to ourselves, and just walked and drove all around the coast, still not believing that the year and a half of planning was all over and we were really married.

Happiest of Anniversaries to my wonderful, hot, DILF of a husband! Our first year was filled with trials and tribulations so this second year was a nice break, full of love and laughter and the exciting news of my pregnancy. We have been through so much together already, and I can’t wait to see where the next 75 plus years takes us. I am a lucky wifey!

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

