Two months!

2MonthsH

We have officially kept a baby alive for two whole months!

Harrison turned two months on March 14, and I am having a hard time with how fast time is passing.

Weight: 14.5 pounds,  (up from 11lbs at 1 month, 9lbs at 2 weeks and 8lbs 13oz at birth)
Height: 24.5in,  (up from 20.5in at birth)
Head: 16cm (up from 16cm at 1 month and 15cm at birth)

Health: This has been a rough time for the little dude. Z got sick, then I got sick and sicker and H ended up catching the virus as well. I knew right away that something was awry when he only slept for 5 hours and woke up screaming. I nursed and cradled and rocked and walked H all around and nothing helped, and he also started crying. My normally easy-going baby is not a cryer at all, he mostly complains by half-crying if he’s hungry or tired, and that’s it, so when he started crying for real, that was clue #2 that something was up. We took his temperature and it was really high, so we called his pediatricians office and they directed us to the Emergency Room. Once we got there, they confirmed what I was thinking – he had an ear infection and probably had caught the virus I had. I cried in the ER because I felt like the worst mom ever and he was just so miserable. His eyes were puffy and red because he wasn’t sleeping well and he was so sweaty and would just look at me with his big blue eyes despondently. He also had 5 vaccinations at his 2 month wellness checkup and he was not having a good time. I cried in the doctors office and when we got home later that day, because H’s cries turned from sad and sleepy whimpers to deathly screams. It is really really hard to see and hear that your little one is in pain. It’s not fair; they’re these tiny little pure beings and they have no way to tell you what’s wrong, and all I want to do is fix it so he never has to feel pain. Now I can feel empathetic to my parents having to sit up with me all night when I was little in a steamy bathroom because I was having an asthma attack or crying in pain because of my chronic ear infections.

Eating: See weight above. Yeah, he’s an eater. This last week he has moved from eating about every 1.5 hours to every 2 to 2.5 hours, but he seems to be eating more and for longer! Although I’m still trying to conquer breastfeeding and get more comfortable with it, I am surprised at how natural it feels for me. I was terrified that I wouldn’t be able to keep up with it, or that I would have supply issues, but we haven’t had any problems on either front and actually have a huge stockpile already in the spare freezer. I still hate pumping, I don’t like how uncomfortable it is, but it’s a necessary evil twice a day. I did try to go a few days without pumping, but it wasn’t a good idea, so I figure I can deal with it once in the morning and once in the evening.

Sleep: We seriously lucked out. *knock on wood* H is a wonderful sleeper at night: we typically get at least 6.5 hours and have gotten up to almost 9. During the day, it’s a different story. He is fine as long as he can sleep on me, and he’ll sleep an hour and a half to two hours, but if I try to put him down in his crib or bassinet, we really only get 30 to 45 minutes. I don’t blame him though! I sleep much better if I’m snuggling too.

Sizes: My two month old is fitting into 6 month clothing already – what the heck!? He has just a few 0-3 month items that still fit, but we’re predominantly in 3mo – 6mo. SCARY! His head is humongous and doesn’t fit into any of the adorable 0-3 month VonBon, Little Hip Squeaks, or Gap hats.

Milestones / Firsts: He smiles! He is especially smiley in the mornings, right after nursing, when daddy gets home from work, and when we listen to music. He giggles when he sleeps but giggled for real while awake for the first time yesterday with Grandpa – and I missed it!

Nicknames: Baby, H, buddy, dude

Likes: Showers, mommy, eating, sleeping on mama, dad playing guitar and singing, riding in the car, being worn in the Solly Baby Wrap.

Dislikes: Tummy time, baths, sleeping alone, pacifiers, bottles.

Coming up: Now that his legs have chunked up and he’s 14.5 pounds, we are going to be starting cloth diapering this month – I’m really excited! We have a few pockets, a few All In Ones and a few Flats / Fitteds, so I’ll be interested to see which ones I like the most, and if Z gets over his fear of them and embraces the fluff. H, my mom and I are also going to be driving back to WA in a few weeks to finally see some of my family, it’s time again for one of our semi-annual Girl’s Weekends! The ladies all get together and craft, catch up and drink and just have a wonderful time in general. It’s usually “No Boys Allowed”, but I’m sure they’ll make an exception for H! The weather outlook is seeming better and better every day so pretty soon we’ll hopefully be spending most of our time outdoors and soaking up the warm sun.

4 thoughts on “Two months!

    • Thank you so much Sarah! I am so honored and can’t wait to respond and do my own 🙂
      I want to remember as much as possible with H, and already feel like there’s so much I’ve missed so I’m hoping by blogging it all, there is no chance of missing out!

      Like

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

